jump to navigation

School October 26, 2007

Posted by linnic in Education, IEP.
Tags: , ,
trackback

For many, where to send a child to school brings with it many questions. Parents seek a school that offers rigorous academics, a positive environment, and nice facilities. Often there are several schools from which to choose. When you have a child with special needs, the chooses seem more difficult. You have to take into account so many other things. Will they offer what my child currently needs, can they meet his needs in the future?

Right now we are struggling with where my son should go to school. I am fortunate in that I am a teacher and he has for the past few months attended school where I teach. Due to the recent increase in behaviors, his current school is unable to meet his needs. I live and work in separate school districts which is causing some further complications. Will my work district continue to help meet our needs, or will they pass him to our home district.

I must admit, I do not know much about our home district. We moved recently and I never really considered the schools because I “knew” I could keep my kids in my school. My work district is large and has an abundance of resources and a lot of experience with kids with problems similar to that of my son.

Our district is big on inclusion, which is not an option for my son right now. He needs to be self contained (will mean going to a different regular ed school) or put into a special school for students who are labeled “ED”. He does not yet have this label, I’m not sure we want that label and several people on his IEP team don’t think he will qualify.

So what do we do? At this point, we are weighing options, but there is a limit to the time before we will need to make a decision. Unfortunately, there is no easy answer, no magic wand.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

