jump to navigation

Don’t Give Up April 28, 2008

Posted by linnic in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

For those of you who don’t know, my son is is dealing with a lot of mental illness for such a little boy. This internal struggle expresses itself through his behavior. Most of the time, he is an adorable and sweet child who wants nothing more than to please those he loves. Then there are times when he becomes very angry and violent.

Every night when he goes to bed he listens to the CD by Josh Groban, Awaken. Last night he was laying in bed while his grandpa rubbed his back and told him that his favorite song was “Don’t Give Up”. Then he went on to say that this was his favorite song because he thought it was God talking to him.

This morning, I asked him about his favorite song. I asked why he thought God was talking to him.

“Because he says ‘don’t give up. The weight of the world is his.’ That’s something God would say, to let him have the weight of the world and for us not to give up. God sings to me and tells me not to give up. And actually it sounds like God singing.”

Such profound words for a 5 year old to say! His statement tells how much inner pain and turmoil he is in and how he knows not to give up. God speaks to us in all kinds of ways; to him, it was through the words of that song. I have included those words below. I hope this story touches you as much as it touched me, I still get tears and goosebumps when I think about it.

You Are Loved (Don’t Give Up)
By Josh Groban

Don’t give up
It’s just the weight of the world
When your heart’s heavy
I…I will lift it for you

Don’t give up
Because you want to be heard
If silence keeps you
I…I will break it for you

Everybody wants to be understood
Well I can hear you
Everybody wants to be loved
Don’t give up
Because you are loved

Don’t give up
It’s just the hurt that you hide
When you’re lost inside
I…I’ll be there to find you

Don’t give up
Because you want to burn bright
If darkness blinds you
I…I will shine to guide you

Everybody wants to be understood
Well I can hear you
Everybody wants to be loved
Don’t give up
Because you are loved
You are loved

Don’t give up
It’s just the weight of the world
You are loved

Don’t give up
Everyone needs to be heard
You are loved

Comments»

1. barbaramarybeth - April 30, 2008

That is a beautiful message. And don’t worry about the chalk or the house. When my kids were little it was a constant battle to keep the house intact, but it does get better. Your son is very special and you have been chosen to be his mother. I know because my daughter is bipolar too, so I know what you are going through. I am the one that wrote you a couple comments on the hospitalization page. Hang in there. You are his mother for a reason. -MaryBeth
p.s. Can you delete my husband’s email from public view on the last comment? I don’t think he wants it publicized, I just wanted you to have it if you wanted to talk. You can stll email me though, if you want to. – MB

2. Manic Monday VII « Necessary Therapy - July 20, 2010

[…]           Roller Coaster Kid offers some encouraging words for parents of children with Bipolar in “Don’t Give Up“ […]


Leave a Reply

